Resurging….In memory to my beloved Lucy

11 Sep

It is about 9pm here in Costa Rica, and I am just watching trueblood laying on the couch because my whole body is soaring as if I lifted a truck with my arms, back and belly.  It happens when you left 3 weeks without doing any exercising, so now it seems I am starting from the beginning.

These last weeks has been very hectic and sad, now I am towards cheering up myself and moving on. I don’t remember being that sad since the last break up I had with my boyfriend that happened 4 years ago (it’s been 4 years, there’s been others of course, but u know, were not a relationship that counts in my list, however I enjoyed them…) .  Well this week something dreadful happen to me, my lovely pet Lucy passed away last Tuesday because of a kidney disease that was not able to be healed or cured. She got erlichia which is a terrible disease that if you don’t take care since the beginning, you may not be able to save your pet.  It was a new disease for me and neither me nor the vet i was taking her to,  identified it on time, so no right medicine and treatment was given to her. We went to two more vets and only the last one, who was recommended by a good friend of mine, did a full thorougly exams but delivered the worst news to me, as it was late.

It was an experience I don’t wish to anybody, at least those pet lovers that think that a dog is part of the family.  One thing I am very grateful is, having good friends.  As soon as my friends knew about it, they were there with me during the whole process. They even went with me to buried her and stay over night for me to not feel lonely and to help me picking up Lucy’s stuff.  If  it weren’t for them, things would’ve been more difficult.   Today, I feel much better, my house still feels a little lonely, and it seems she is there next me, but things are getting better day by day, and hour by hour.  What I am still having problems with is to sleep.  Lucy used to sleep with me, so I am not having good sleep right now. 

Let me tell you a little bit about Lucy, I picked Lucy 4 years ago from the streets, close to Santa Ana district in Costa Rica.. a friend of mine told me about her. She looks  funny, she was all happy and sweet, that people that live in that avenue feed her some times. I saw her, she moved her tail and saw me with those eyes, and I was all hers. She lived with me for some time, then I started travelling and my neighbord was taking care while I was out; however my trip was going to be extended so I took her to Peru and my sister and mom overlook while I was in the business trip for a year. My mom thought she was her granddaughter so I believe Lucy was a beloved dog, and conquered my family hearts from my sister, to my mom, grandma, uncles, aunt and friends.  Last December I stopped travelling so I brought Lucy back, and we start having our daily routines. I live by myself in Costa Rica, as all my family is in Peru, so Lucy was my friend and only company.  This is how I remember a la “negra”, how I used to call her too.

Because of all these good experiences I lived with her,  I decided I need to raise again, to live day by day and  do things that will help me with that as going back to exercise. You know, exercising is a need in my life,  without it I just don’t function properly.   So I decided to go to Yoga last Friday with my running partner, it was delicious, exactly what I needed. Then on Saturday, went to the gym, to lift some weight.. and now, you already know how my body is feeling.   However, my inter self feels peaceful, I believe it was the yoga, i didn’t realize how much I missed it.

Well, now I am getting ready to go for a run tomorrow morning, see I used to walk every morning with Lucy, so this is the next step…. I loved Lucy very much, but now I am coming back!!  

I dedicate to those pet lovers that went through this same experience, this only make us stronger and ready to continue giving love to those beautiful dogs..

One Response to “Resurging….In memory to my beloved Lucy”

  1. carol September 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    i cant believe u havnt call to tell me 😦

Leave a Reply

